Point #4-I Hope Cleanliness is Not Close to Anything but “Not Smelliness”

21 Oct

Otherwise, I am in troooouuuuble.

I have noticed something in my months of, shall we call it, “self” employment: namely that showering is something that happens considerably less when one does not leave the house. Before I am lambasted for my smelly hippytude, let me preface all of this by saying that I do not stink horribly, I am not going anywhere of importance, and I know enough to bathe myself regularly when I venture out into the big wide world.

But I was amused to realise that unlike the regular routine of nightly (or morning..er, ly) shower and washing of hair, I must motivate myself in some fashion. I have managed to justify purchases of new and exciting bath products in this way. Soap and Glory is clearing out their Peaches and Cream shower scrub at Target? To the shower, Jeeves and damn the lights! Ah, now I smell like peaches…

And NO baths. Yuck. They are fine when one is having a glass of wine and a book by candlelight moment, but if I am dirty, a bath is just soaking in Me Tea and that is full of fail.

I guess the bottom line is this: if you have to wonder how long it has been since you showered, it’s been too long.

3 Responses to “Point #4-I Hope Cleanliness is Not Close to Anything but “Not Smelliness””

  1. Susan October 22, 2009 at 9:39 am #

    Been there done that, got the t-shirt but I swear it’s clean now. I went through the same thing when the wee one was born I swear for the first few months I had to talk myself into a shower because I was so unmotivated, or really I’d rather have been asleep then do so. Though I’ve never been a daily shower person unless doing some sweaty activity regularly, which I’ve never been prone to do. If it ever gets to where you can ‘smell’ yourself then you know what to do. Find yeh a bar of soap!

  2. cynjon November 9, 2009 at 10:49 pm #

    Hey, I LIKE Me-Tea. If I can’t bathe, I become a neurotic mess. Seriously. I think it’s because as a kid, all we ever had were baths, since the only shower in the house was in my folks bedroom, and they weren’t given to sharing it, really….and given that I was given to filling the bathtub with live turtles and baby ducks on occasion, I can’t say I blame them, really.

    I guess my mother didn’t fancy having to scrub duck poop out of the one spot she could actually escape from me.

    Anyways, that’s all beside the point…what I was *going* to say was if you want some showery goodness, stop by http://www.etsy.com/shop/RachelRene and do some shopping! I have no affiliation with Christine, but I swear by her products. Natural, smell WONDERFUL, they *last*..unlike so many handmade soaps that just disintegrate…and her body mousses are to kill someone for.

    Oh, but I DO shower after bathing in my Me-ness.

  3. cynjon November 9, 2009 at 10:50 pm #

    Oh yeah, and if you do shop with her, let her know I sent ya!

Leave a Reply

