Point #19-Suddenly It’s Christmas…and other holidays, too

23 Dec

And just like that, holy shit it’s Christmas. It is in two days, and I find myself fairly prepared. There will be the typical last minute “AHHH!” of finishing that last gift, and it must be confessed that there will inevitably be at least one gift that will be “wrapped” only in the sense that it will be presented still in the bag in which I brought it home. If I am feeling festive I will wrap the bag tightly around the gift in order to make the concept of “wrapped” more literal. I made most of my gifts this year, ostensibly to live up to my status of a crafty maven, but mostly because I am broke like a bastard. I am pleased with the results, however. Some years, I have felt like a six year giving people a plaster cast of a foot, or a turkey made out of a construction paper cutout of my hand. I have debated each year presenting my mum with a macaroni necklace because, God bless her, she would probably exclaim with glee just as enthusiastically as she did when I was a tiny tyke. Since my burgeoning skill with glitter glue and popsicle sticks, my work has taken on a whole new level, and I think it shows.

This year also saw me handcraft a lovely dinner for my family and some family-type friends for the last night of Hanukkah, which I also celebrate courtesy of my Jewish boyfriend. The dinner was a rousing success, and I am determined to believe that my friends going home to find that they had been robbed to be utterly unrelated to the bad luck of having been at my house. (Seriously, it was scary for them, and I hope everyone can spare a good thought or two for them this year.) As part of the Hanukkah celebration, I thought that having yarmulkes was in order. Unfortunately, that fell further and further by the wayside as the dinner got closer. In the end, in desperation and a fervent hope that a good ol’ fashioned Old Testament God wouldn’t put the smackdown on me, Torah-style, for blasphemy, I made yarmulkes out of discs of cardboard, stapled into a shallow cones and…um…spraypainted black. This was far from elegant, but did the trick, I feel. In other miraculous news, when my camera batteries ran out the first night of Hanukkah, and I had no more, I put in some old ones that had run out previously and then sat for several weeks. Weirdly, they lasted exactly eight nights, giving out just as I took my last Hanukkah shots the final night. A modern day miracle, indeed. It mightn’t have worked. It was hit or mitzvah. *rim shot*

Finally, in today’s epically long update, I had what I consider to be an epic win in the blogging world. I had one of the good folks at Regretsy comment on one of my posts. I feel like I sang karaoke and had Alannis Morrisette come up to me and say, “Word.” I may have literally have gone “squee!”. I’m not proud of that, but sometimes the squee just happens. I seriously love that site so much, I want to make something super wrong and scary just to be featured on it. Plaster cast of my bajingo to follow.

Leave a Reply

