Point #21-Mod Podge Rocks and I Need to Write More

3 Aug

Ah, muse…where have you been. No matter. Here I am again, on my own, bringing to the world more adventures of the Accidental Artisan and her latest obsession, the art of decoupage. It’s nothing new for me, having been wont to glue things to other things for some time now. Once upon a time it was random objects to my bedroom curtain, and that was before the drugs. Decoupage is awesome because it is so very basic and awesome.

Step 1: Find something.

Step 2: Find something flat. (like magazine cut outs, etc.)

Step 3: Glue the shit together.

That’s it! Ok, there’s slightly more to it than that. First off, Mod Podge is your friend and you should accept no substitutes. Second, have a vague plan. Third, if you are mosaic-ing things, lay down all the big stuff first and fill it in with littler things. Fourth, colour is also your friend. Go f***ing bananas. Go here:

for the best ideas on the whole entire Intarwebz.

In other news, I finally got a Holga, but have not developed any pictures from it, I am still planning a wedding, but it’s sort of on hold at the mo’, and the tree that was cut down will not die quietly, but I haven’t really trimmed the suckers recently. In short, my life is kind of a big soup of half assery and I am ok with that.

This was so easy. Just cut pieces of scrapbook paper of different patterns and Podged that effer together. I am quite pleased with it.

10 Responses to “Point #21-Mod Podge Rocks and I Need to Write More”

  1. Susan August 3, 2010 at 2:17 pm #

    I recently discovered the greatness that is ModPodge recently myself. My first project was making custom light switch covers for the kids rooms. I found some fabric I liked and just mod podged it to a wooden light switch plate. The affect is great. Lenore has her Belle one and Ronin has Spiderman. I even used the same fabric and added Spiderman to a plain $4 Target wallclock for Ronin also.
    Your table looks awesome btw! I love the stained glass affect by letting the black show as borders.

  2. Plaid Crafts August 3, 2010 at 8:20 pm #

    This is gorgeous! I absolutely love it! Thank you for sharing – Amy

  3. Infarrantly Creative August 3, 2010 at 8:42 pm #

    that is beyond gorgeous. The different patterns…oh my. I love how it will now match anything! Great job.

  4. kloyer4 August 3, 2010 at 8:58 pm #

    I love it!! It looks awesome and I love the whole idea of turning something old into something fab!!

  5. Destry Eskew August 3, 2010 at 11:43 pm #

    OK – So pretty – however – there is no end to the coats!!!! I did this to my dining room table…and I can’t get a final coat on it. I have tried a spray adhesive – nothing makes that final non stick, non tacky, sheen.

    • pointsforcreativity August 4, 2010 at 12:26 am #

      Two options for creating a non-stick finish, depending on the type of project. For furniture or other items with a “work” surface, spray sealant works wonders and it doesn’t take much to cover that last tacky bit. For decorative items, I have found tiny tiny bits of, of all the weird things, wax for spiking hair. I cannot at ALL speak to the archival quality of it…I doubt it is even remotely close. But it’s also fairly benign and once paper or other artwork is sealed, it’s basically protetced from everything. I have used that in completed altered books to keep the pages from sticking together. Works like a charm.

      • pointsforcreativity August 4, 2010 at 1:41 am #

        To clarify, I use small amounts to buff onto the surface. Realised I was very unclear. Late night typing and all. šŸ™‚

  6. Christa August 4, 2010 at 2:05 am #

    So wonderful! Can’t wait to do it!

  7. pointsforcreativity August 4, 2010 at 9:20 pm #

    I didn’t mean to like my own post like a lame-o. I clicked it to see if it would show me who liked me and whoosh. I had liked me.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. I just may Decoupage the world! « Definitive Designs… Definitively… - August 4, 2010

    […] a wee bit of decoupage in my life (if you’re not sure what that is, Jess’s blog post here sums it up better than I ever could) but I’ve never covered a whole piece, and I’ve […]

Leave a Reply

