Point #30-My Fandom’s Made of Paint Chips

2 Sep

My last post, uploaded mere hours ago, outlined my groovy foray into the exciting world of figuring out what the shiny hell to do with all the paint chips I obsessively collect like Pogs. Or Pokemon cards. Crap, I don’t know what kids collect these days. Something to do with Twilight, no doubt, but you get my point.

The other night, my exhusband/bestfriend-type-person came a-swingin’ by with his lovely lady to pick up some books, and he took one look at my awesome paint chippery upon the wall and declared “want”. I am one to oblige my nearest and dearest who like them a piece of the hastily created out of random objects style of craft I produce and so I set to work the next day. Gary had a very simple colour request: black, gold, and white, stating that those colours “go with anything”. Horse doots. That isn’t why he picked those colours. You see, during my marriage to the fellow, I developed many fandoms, one of which in particular stays with me to this day. In spite of never having once set foot in Pittsburgh, I am a die-hard Steelers fan, as is he. This made the challenge doubly fun for me, and I set to work enthusiastically.

Crap crap crap crap, quintuple crunchy crap.

In limiting the colours to variations (and I most broadly interpreted, let me tell you) of the three he listed, I did not have enough of them in any one size to cover the other DAVE box (packaging from IKEA’s computer table, DAVE) fully. *kick chair, get in rage, wonder if drive to hardware store just to “steal” paint chips would be ridiculous…sigh* The neato thing is, this forced me to improvise, and honestly, I think the resulting project is actually awesomer (shaddup, it’s a word.) than my original attempt. The chips are different sizes, the colours are uniform but not matchy matchy, and the black paint outlines give it a cool graffiti finish that I like very much. It is subtly indicative of his favourite team, without outright using and abusing any logos or copyrights (observant folks may notice a subtle swish of paint on three chips meant to pay homage to the team logo in the shape of a hypocycloid; present, but not overwhelming) and something that even a non-fan would potentially find appealing strictly as a work of art. In other words: woo. Go me. Go Team! Go paint chips!!! *waves big foam finger*

This shows that wonderful Mod Podge shiny goodness:

A close up showing some textured chips as well as some left with the name of the paint colour showing:

A close up of the hypocycloids:

Visit thecsiproject.com
I’m entering the CSI Challenge this week! Check out their site for other awesome projects!

5 Responses to “Point #30-My Fandom’s Made of Paint Chips”

  1. galaxy September 2, 2010 at 7:32 am #

    awesome idea and phenomenal execution! I may need a jess original for my wall, I love your vision!

  2. Joy September 2, 2010 at 8:23 am #

    Very cool, and I don’t even like football.

  3. Christin@Pregnant with power tools September 2, 2010 at 10:13 am #

    I love it! You are also hilarious – hope you get chosen to be in the top 10!

  4. Jan September 3, 2010 at 10:35 am #

    This is a fun project AND a fun post. I’ve a whole stack of paint chips just waiting to be used for something — I think you have given me that something! Great project!

  5. Jo Anne September 7, 2010 at 2:14 am #

    Hey fellow mookychick! Great blog. I imagine I’ll be going to the hardware store soon with a bag for this project.

Leave a Reply

